Certified Coding Specialist Details

Certification Industry: Healthcare

Certificate Name: Certified Coding Specialist

Certificate Issuing Authority: American Health Information Management Association

Certification Price: Premium Member Price: $284.05 Member Price: $299 Non-Member Price: $399

Certificate Validity: The credential is valid for two years

Those who are proficient in coding and have tested skills in data quality and management can give the Coding Specialist exam.

Hospitals require such professionals to reimburse the insurance money from the companies or government schemes to the patient.

Such people have to review patients’ records and assign numeric codes for each diagnosis. 

Who Should Apply for Coding Specialist Certification?

Minimum Qualification Required:

  1. Hold the RHIA®, RHIT®, or CCS-P® credentials; OR

  2. Complete courses in all the following topics: anatomy & physiology, pathophysiology, pharmacology, medical terminology, reimbursement methodology, intermediate/advanced ICD diagnostic/procedural and CPT coding, OR

  3. Attain a minimum of two (2) years of related coding experience directly applying codes; OR

  4. Hold the CCA® credential plus one (1) year of coding experience directly applying codes; OR

  5. Hold a coding credential from another certifying organization plus one (1) year of coding experience directly applying codes.


  1. Increase in Knowledge: You will work on new technology in the field of privacy and security. Challenging situations will teach you a lot and improve your knowledge. Thus, you can work with big companies as well.  

  2. Opportunity for Professional Connections: You will get an opportunity to work with experienced doctors and increase your network that can help in career growth as well.

Certified Coding Specialist Exam Details:

  • Number of Questions: 97 (79 are scored and 18 are not scored)
  • Type of Questions: MCQ
  • Time allotted: 4 Hours

Examination Topics

  1. Clinical Documentation (14-18%)

  2. Diagnosis Coding (28-32%)

  3. Procedure Coding (28-32%)

  4. Reporting Requirements for Inpatient Services (6-10%)

  5. Reporting Requirements for Outpatient Services (6-10%)

  6. Data Quality Management (3-7%)

  7. Privacy, Confidentiality, Legal, and Ethical Issues (1-5%)