Certified Government Auditing Professional (CGAP) Details

Certification Industry: Auditors

Certificate Name: Certified Government Auditing Professional (CGAP)

Certificate Issuing Authority: The Institute of Internal Auditors (TIIA)

Certification Price: Member: US $380 Non-Member: US $495

Certificate Validity: Need to be renewed every year

The CGAP certification program is designed especially for auditors working in the public sector at all levels — federal/national, state/provincial, local, quasi-governmental, or crown authority — and is an excellent professional credential that prepares a candidate for the many challenges they face in this demanding arena.

Who Should Apply for Certified Government Auditing Professional (CGAP)?

The CGAPs must exhibit high moral character in order to be accepted as this job needs people who are very trustworthy.

In order to apply for the CGAP certification, one should comply with the following certification requirements.

CGAP Requirements

  1. Education

Candidates must hold an Associate's degree or higher to be approved into one of The IIA’s certification programs. Common equivalents are a Foundation Degree, Diploma of Higher Education, Higher National Diploma,or three A-level certificates with a grade of C or higher are also acceptable.

  1. Character Reference

Candidates must exhibit high moral and professional character and must submit a Character Reference signed by a CIA, CGAP, CCSA, CFSA, CRMA, or the candidate's supervisor.

  1. Work Experience (Internal Auditing)

  1. Master’s Degree: 12 months

  2. Bachelor’s Degree: 24 months

  3. Associate’s Degree, three A-level Certificates, grade C or higher: 60 months

  1. Proof of Identification

Official Passport/National Identity Card

  1. Eligibility Period

Candidates must complete the program by December 31, 2020.

  1. Confidentiality

Candidates in the program agree to keep the contents of the exam confidential and therefore may not discuss the specific exam content with anyone except The IIA's Certification Department. 

  1. Code of Ethics

CIA candidates agree to abide by the Code of Ethics established by The IIA.

Certified Government Auditing Professional (CGAP) Exam Details:

The CGAP exam is divided into four Domains.

  1. Domain I: Standards, Governance, and Risk-Control Frameworks (10-20%)

  2. Domain II: Government Auditing Practice (35-45%)

  3. Domain III: Government Auditing Skills and Techniques (20-25%)

  4. Domain IV: Government Auditing Environment (20-25%)

Number of Questions: 115 multiple-choice questions

Exam Time: 2 hours 55 minutes

Exam Languages: Chinese (unsimplified), English, Polish, Spanish, and Turkish

For more details about the CGAP exam, log on to Certified Government Auditing Professional® (CGAP®) Exam Syllabus.

Time Taken To Prepare For The CGAP Exam:

It takes about three months to prepare for the CGAP exam.

For more details, log on to Pages - CGAP.