Enrolled Agent (EA) Details

Certification Industry: Taxation

Certificate Name: Enrolled Agent (EA)

Certificate Issuing Authority: National Association of Enrolled Agents (NAEA)

Certification Price: $181.94 USD per Part

Certificate Validity: Need to be renewed every three years

An Enrolled Agent (EA) is a federally-authorized tax practitioner who has technical expertise in the field of taxation and who is empowered by the U.S. Department of the Treasury to represent taxpayers before all administrative levels—examination, collection, and appeals—of the Internal Revenue Service. 

Who Should Apply for Enrolled Agent (EA)?

An EA is considered to be a tax specialist, pertaining to Income Tax, Inheritance Tax, Gift Tax, Estate, Payroll, Retirement, and Non-profit tax.

EAs usually get paid $44,000 per annum and work from home. Therefore, being an EA offers more flexibility in terms of lifestyle. 

EA Requirements

There are two ways to become an EA.

  1. Five years of IRS work experience and be in a position to interpret the tax code, or

  2. Pass all three parts of the Special Enrollment Exam (SEE) along with a background check.

Enrolled Agent (EA) Exam Details:

The EA exam consists of three parts which can be taken in any order.

  1. Part 1: Individuals

  2. Part 2: Businesses

  3. Part 3: Representation, Practice, and Procedures

  • Number of Questions: 100 multiple-choice questions per Part
  • Exam Offering: May 1 through February 28

For more details, log on to Enrolled Agent (EA) Examination.

Time Taken To Complete The EA Exam

Candidates have a two-year window from the time they pass the first part to pass the other two parts of the exam.

For more details, log on to: 

Become an Enrolled Agent (National Association of Enrolled Agents)

Become an Enrolled Agent (IRS)